With the GAA championship season about to get into full swing, Seán Creedon enumerates the major achievements of some counties and individuals

35 The number of times Kilkenny has won the All-Ireland senior hurling final. The Cats first win was in 1904 when Tullaroan, representing Kilkenny, beat St Finbarr’s of Cork in the final at Carrick-on Suir. Their 35th win came last September when they beat Tipperary in a replay.

12 That’s the number of counties who have won the All-Ireland hurling title. The 13th different winners were London, who beat Redmonds of Cork in the 1901 final at Jones’s Road. Of the 13 winners, Kerry, London and Laois have never lifted the MacCarthy Cup, which was first presented in 1921.

37 Kerry lead the way in the SFC with 37 titles. The Kingdom’s first win was in 1903 when their representatives Tralee Mitchels beat Hibernians of London. That final wasn’t played until November 1905.

To continue reading please pick up a copy of Ireland’s Own