The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award 2017.

Closing date extended to Friday, 11th August 2017.


The Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award for a first unpublished collection of poems in English is open to poets, born in the island of Ireland, or of Irish nationality, or long term resident in Ireland. 

The award is now in its 46th year. Previous winners include Eileán Ni Chuilleanáin, Paul Durcan, Thomas McCarthy,

Peter Sirr, Sinead Morrissey, Conor O’Callaghan,

Celia de Freine and Joseph Woods.


The winner of this year’s award will receive €1,000.


Closing date for entries has been extended to Friday 11th August 2017.


The Award will be presented on the evening of

Friday 29th September 2017 at the opening of the

Annual Patrick Kavanagh Weekend in Inniskeen.


Sponsored by the Institute of Education, Ireland’s leading school for exam focused tuition.                                                                                                              


Rules and entry form are available on our website or from the

Patrick Kavanagh Centre, Inniskeen, Co. Monaghan.